Posted by: biblioglobal | January 4, 2012

The Project

Some time ago, I read something somewhere about someone who decided to read a book from every country in the world. That seemed like a fun idea and it percolated in the back of my head for a while until I happened to be reading the book Apples are from Kazakhstan. I realized that I wasn’t that likely to read that many books set in Kazakhstan and decided that if I was going to try this project, now was probably a good time to start.

I initially had no intention whatsoever of writing a blog about it. After all, a quick Google search tells me that plenty of other people have blogged about this exact same project. However, enough family and friends have told me “Oh, you should make a blog about this!” with enough insistence, that I have been persuaded. Hopefully some of them will actually read this.

I plan to post responses to the books that I read and also assorted thoughts about the project as a whole. So far, I’ve read books for Kazakhstan, Iran, Morocco, and Azerbaijan. Posts for those should be coming shortly.

The rules:

  1.  A book can count for a particular country if it is either set in that country or written by an author from that country (or preferably both).
  2. Only books that I’ve read in December 2011 or later will count. No retroactive countries! (Though I may make an exception for Kiribati. I’ve read a pretty good book set in Kiribati and it claimed that all the other books written about Kiribati were quite boring.)
Responses

  1. Does re-reading count? I think the Kite Runner is extraordinary for Afghanistan.

  2. Nope, no re-reading allowed! The Kite Runner certainly would be a good choice if I hadn’t already read it.

    Actually, as I think about it, I can name five books that I’ve previously read that have been set at least partially in Afghanistan- Kite Runner, Thousand Splendid Suns, Charlie Wilson’s War, something about running a beauty school in Kabul, and Stones into Schools. It would seem that Afghanistan has actually been quite well represented in my reading! So I’m sure that I can find one more to read.

  3. What a great idea! I haven’t come across anyone doing this in the numerous book blogs I follow! I’ve added you to my RSS feed 😀

    • Thanks! I definitely stole the idea from someone else, although I can’t remember anymore where I found it.

  4. This is a really interesting idea, and I’ll be curious to see all the books you find for the different countries!

    • Thanks! Nice to find a fellow science grad student and reader.


Leave a Reply

Categories

