Posted by: biblioglobal | April 14, 2012

#8 Haiti

Breath, Eyes, Memory by Edwidge DanticatBreath, Eyes, Memory by Edwidge Danticat

Date finished: March 13, 2012

How I found this book: Wandering through my library looking for books from other countries. I’d previously read The Farming of Bones by the same author, so this seemed like a good choice.

It’s been quite a gap between reading this book and posting. Partially due to general busyness and partially because I didn’t feel like I had that much to say about it. Breath, Eyes, Memory is a novel that seems to have a lot of autobiographical elements about several generations of women in a Haitian family, in which the younger members of the family have emigrated to the United States. It is a well-written book, so I’m not sure why I don’t have more to say about it. Maybe it’s just that it reminds me of a lot of other books about mother-daughter relationships of immigrants to the U.S. One thing that caught my attention was the fact that the U.S. and Haitian branches of the family communicated by audio cassette. A clever solution to the fact that the aunt and grandmother were illiterate.

Unrelated to the book, I heard a piece on Haiti on the radio yesterday afternoon. Apparently the first ever sewage treatment plant in the country recently opened in Port-au-Prince. That shocked me. I certainly would have expected that sewage treatment would be relatively rare, but to have absolute zero sewage treatment in a city the size of Port-au-Prince (nearly 3 million people) just boggles my mind.

Leave a Reply

Categories

