Posted by: biblioglobal | September 11, 2012

Books from 20 countries

I have now read twenty books towards my book-from-every-country project, so I’m just over 10% of my way through. I’ve decided to do a summary post every group of ten books I read, so here we go.

  • The book in this group that really stood out for me was Half of a Yellow Sun, from Nigeria. I liked it so much that I also read both of Chinamanda Ngozi Adichie’s other books, Purple Hibiscus and The Thing Around Your Neck. Those were also very good, but I still like Half of a Yellow Sun best. Other favorites were At Swim, Two Boys by Jamie O’Neill (Ireland) and Snow by Orhan Pamuk (Turkey).
  • My post for Canada about the book Too much Happiness by Alice Munro became my most visited post, which surprised me. Perhaps, given that most of my visitors are from the United States, it suggests that people are most interested in the familiar? (Azerbaijan is my least read post, which is too bad because Ali and Nino is a great book that I think a lot of people would enjoy)
  • I happened to read a lot of books from relatively ‘easy’ countries in this grouping- Canada, Egypt, Australia, Turkey, Ireland, Nigeria. Lots of countries with substantial literary output. I think I’ll start putting some effort into mixing in more of the ‘difficult’ countries as well.
  • While reading and writing about this set of books, I began to interact a more with other book blogging people. That’s been a lot of fun and made keeping up with the blog more rewarding. On the other hand, I also spend time reading other people’s blogs that I probably ought to spend on other things.
  • I don’t have a strict deadline for this project, but I have the idea in my head of it taking about ten years which is twenty books a year. Since I started in December of last year, that puts me nicely ahead of schedule.
  • I was trying not to plan too far ahead on the books I want to read, but I’ve given in and started keeping a list of books that I’ve come across that I might want to read for the project. I have quite a few books I’m looking forward to!
Responses

  1. I think it’s always great to keep a list of books you want to read for a project! When you don’t want to pick random.org is great 😀 Also – it’s refreshing to read other people’s blogs for ideas of books, but also to buoy myself up for some more reading especially when I’m struggling to finish a book (like now).

    • It is fun to make a list of books. The downside is that it makes me impatient to get to read them!

  2. Thanks. I agree that Half a Yellow Sun is an outstanding book. Glad you are going to try and read some books from less published countries. My blog has reviews of some you might like. Keep up the good work.

    • After reading Adichie’s other books, I think the really remarkable thing about Half of a Yellow Sun is the depth of the main characters. They are all basically good, but they also all have important flaws. You certainly do have a great selection of international books on your blog. I enjoy seeing what you are reading.


Leave a Reply

Categories

