Posted by: biblioglobal | October 1, 2012

In which a booksale appears in front of me

Booksale finds

I don’t usually buy many books, so I haven’t had an opportunity to do a “Look at all the exciting new books I bought!” post.

But last week as I was walking in to work, what should I find but a used booksale being set up right in front of me. (Yet another reason to walk to work!)  I couldn’t resist stopping to browse while the organizers were continuing to set out books. I picked up a couple of books, bypassing several others that I was tempted by. But then the organizers posted a sign: Any 10 books for $7.00.

The three books on the left, The Bone People, Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter, and They Poured Fire on Us From the Sky are intended to be for the book-from-every-country project.  I’ve already read books for India and Japan, so A Suitable Boy, A Fine Balance, and The Windup Bird Chronicle are just additional books I want to read. The only book in the stack that I’ve already read is The Baron in the Trees by Italo Calvino. I liked it enough that I decided I wanted to own it and to be able to share it with other people.

Having this stack of books sitting in front of me on my desk all day certainly made it difficult to get my work done!

Responses

  1. I love the books, particularly the Norton Anthology. Which edition is it?

    • I hadn’t thought about the edition. It appears to be the first edition from 1978. I guess the newer editions add more recent stories?

      • Yep! I have the 3rd and 4th. I plan to buy the latest (7th) because it has the most number of stories. I intend to to do a blog project on it. 🙂

  2. 1) Insanely jealous of that deal! It’s like the awesome deal at the end of the Boston Book Festival some of the vendors do where you pay $10-15 for a bag and it’s whatever you can get in there.

    2) I’ve been told The Windup Bird Chronicles is really good and I definitely need to check it out as I enjoyed Kafka on the Shore.

    3) I have that same copy of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil which I got at the BBF last year!

    Overall you scored a great deal can’t wait for the reviews!

    • Now I just need to find time to read them all…

      • Always the case – always the case 😀

  3. For me, this is like a drug addict passing a dealer. TROUBLE. I would have left with 10 minimum. I admire your ability not to buy books. But the ones you have chosen look great. Almost all of them are on either my bookshelf now, ,are past residents that I have read and subsequently bookcrossed, or are on my wishlist. The exception is They Poured Fire From the Sky, which I will now have to go read about (and probably throw on the wishlist, yikes). Have fun with these!

    • The only one I’ve started so far is The Bone People which I’m finding quite fascinating. I think They Poured Fire on Us From the Sky will be a pretty tough read in terms of its content, but it falls under the category of things I should know more about.


Leave a Reply

Categories

