Posted by: biblioglobal | November 15, 2012

Awards

I’m pleased to see that my read for India, Behind the Beautiful Forevers, won the U.S. National Book Award for non-fiction! It is one of my favorites so far and well deserving of recognition. (My review is at: https://biblioglobal.wordpress.com/2012/05/05/10-india/). The fiction prize was awarded to Louise Erdich’s The Round House. I’ve been thinking I might want to pick a book about Native American culture for my U.S. book, so this might be a good one. (Plus I’ve meant to read some Louise Erdrich for a long time.)

In other award news, A.M.B at Misfortune of Knowing nominated me for the “One Lovely Blog” award. I’m glad she enjoys my blog, because I certainly enjoy hers. In addition to reviewing books, she brings her legal knowledge to the world of literature. I wouldn’t have thought about it before, but there are many interesting ways in which law and literature interact.  In her post about the award, A.M.B also gives a good defense of the value of these “chain letter”-type awards as an opportunity to show appreciation and link to other blogs.

I think that it’s a very good idea to show appreciation and while I’m not going to do a formal award nomination, I thought this would be a good opportunity to mention a few of the many blogs I enjoy reading.

elephant on the roof: Every post here is thoughtful and insightful. This is a blog that makes me slow down and think.

Maphead’s Book Blog: This is a blog I just recently came across and I’m excited to read more of. Maphead reviews both a wide range of international fiction and an interesting assortment of non-fiction.

Kim’s Scrapbook: Kim is the one person who I’ve influenced into also trying to read a book from every country!

Me, You and Books: Also a very international blog with a focus on feminism

The Oddness of Moving Things: One of those people who get through an intimidating number of books in a wide variety of genres.

 

 

Responses

  1. Thanks for the link and the kind words! I’m going to check out the blogs you mentioned.

  2. Thanks! That’s very kind.

  3. Thanks for the praise! I’m liking your blog too!!

  4. why thank you, kind woman 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

