Posted by: biblioglobal | July 9, 2013

Library Booksale!

Over the weekend I had the chance to go to the library booksale at one of my beloved childhood libraries. A place where the librarian knew my name (and still does!) because I came to the library every Wednesday and checked out seven books.  It was always exactly seven books because my parents sensibly had a rule that I wasn’t allowed to read more than one book per day.

It’s a small library, so the booksale wasn’t huge either, but I quickly found myself an exciting stack of books nonetheless.

Library Booksale

  • Death with Interruptions by Jose Saramago- This is the one book on the stack that is directly for the book-from-every-country project. I’d been planning to read a different book by Jose Saramago for Portugal. But this one sounded quite intriguing: what happens when Death takes a day off and no one dies for a day? Plus it’s good to leave room for a little serendipity
  • The Light between the Oceans by M.L. Steadman- This one is never available at my library, so I figured I might as well buy a copy. I don’t know much about it, other than that takes place at a lighthouse. I’ve always been fascinated by the idea of living in a lighthouse.
  • War Dances by Sherman Alexie- I’ve already read this one. It’s great and I  wanted to own it!
  • Bel Canto by Ann Patchett- I enjoyed Ann Patchett’s book State of Wonder, and I’ve been wanting to read this one. It’s available for checkout at my library so there was no particular reason to buy it. But I decided to anyway.
  • The Gift of Rain by Tan Twan Eng- The beautifully written The Garden of Evening Mists was my book for Malaysia. I’ve gotten the sense from other readers that The Gift of Rain, while good, is not quite as remarkable as The Garden of Evening Mists. So I’m prepared to be disappointed, yet my expectations are still high.
  • The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht- This was my book for Serbia. I bought a copy to give to my mom, which is why it isn’t in the picture.

 

Responses

  1. Library sales are dangerously fun – thank goodness they are all so cheap!

    • Indeed! Plus you get to feel good about supporting the library.

  2. I’ve been known to go a bit crazy at sales like these. Thankfully I’ve toned things down a bit over the last few years.
    I read Bel Canto about five years ago. I look forward to reading your review.

    • I only have one bookshelf and it’s totally full, so I do have to be a bit judicious. But I’ll figure out space somehow…

  3. Sometimes I think it’s good I don’t have any real, proper library nearby. I know it’s “not possible”, but I’m really starting to have “too many books”… Seems like you got an interesting, diverse haul though – always a good thing!

    • On average, I’d say that having a library reduces the number of books on my shelves. I mostly borrow books rather than buying my own copy.

  4. Looks like a great haul! Plus you supported your local library, which I’m all about 🙂 I’ve just ordered a copy of Saramago’s Blindness at the recommendation of a friend and after it appeared in a book I read last month.

    • There was a copy of Blindness at the sale also. But for some reason Death with Interruptions seemed more appealing to me, even though I know that Blindness is his most famous book.

  5. A nice assortment! I read the Saramago a few years ago and enjoyed it very much. But then I have yet to meet a Saramago book I didn’t like. Enjoy your new finds!

    • Glad to hear the endorsement. I haven’t read any Saramago yet, so I’m looking forward to trying him out.

  6. Love library book sales! It looks like you scored some great ones. I read Bel Canto a few years ago and really liked it. I haven’t read State of Wonder yet, but it’s on my list. I’ll be curious to see how you like the Light Between Oceans…I’ve had it sitting on my shelf for awhile but just haven’t gotten around to picking it up yet!

    • It was definitely a fun sale. I enjoyed State of Wonder a lot, though there were certain aspects of it that bugged me. For example- what professor has time to travel back and forth between the U.S. and the remote Amazon on a weekly basis?!

      • Agreed–time or the funds to do so! Especially in this economy. He/she must have had some nice source of private funding.

  7. Looks like a good haul! Library sales are the best — but I should be relieved my library is small, as well, so I don’t spend too much money!

    • Small libraries are also often cozy and full of personality!

  8. I hope the Gift of Rain isn’t a disappointment. I loved his second book!

    • I hope not too!

      (How weird that your comments are being labeled as spam)

  9. I decided to read The Gift of Rain first, even though at the time everyone was talking about The Garden of Evening Mistsand I did enjoy it. I am looking forward to following up with the latter.

    All great choices you have made. Enjoy reading.

    • I’m glad to hear you enjoyed The Gift of Rain. I do expect to enjoy it. I was just trying to reset my expectations for it so that they weren’t impossibly high!

  10. One book per day is a sensible rule. Do you still follow it? I tend to read only one book at a time, but sometimes, when I need a break, it helps to alternate between a two or three.

    • I guess I technically still follow that rule, but it’s pretty easy these days since I don’t have time to read anything close to that much! I do think it was a good rule though. It encouraged me to also do a lot of other things.

  11. Woohoo! The Gift of Rain. I read it in order and I enjoy both of them. I hope you do too. 🙂

    • I’ve actually finished The Gift of Rain and I did indeed enjoy it. There are a lot of similarities between the two books I think. I wonder if as a result whichever book someone reads first is likely to be their favorite.

      • Biblioglobal,

        It’s true for some books, whichever book you read first that will be the favourite. I think that applies to books of equal strength.

        Maybe authors though do fall into the curse of the second book. Their debut is so good that the subsequent novels didn’t quite measure up. I like to read the weaker one first and then get to the best one last for my favourite author.

        I have The Gift of Rain on my Kindle. I read it in 2008 but would like to read it again. I am so glad you like it!

  12. You got some good books there. Love Bel Canto and I’m such a Saramago fan. Enjoy your reading!

    • I just started the Saramago. It’s quite an experience so far!

  13. […] of Rain by Tan Twan Eng and Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman. I had picked them both up at the library booksale this summer and was ready to pass them on to a new […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

