Posted by: biblioglobal | September 8, 2013

Little Free Library!

Little Free LibraryI was walking through a nearby neighborhood this week when I started jumping up and down and saying “I found one! I found one!”. The people walking down the other side of the street probably thought my behavior a bit strange, but they waved politely anyway.

Little Free Library

Neither of these are the little free library I visited. Photos from Wikimedia Commons.

What I had found was a Little Free Library: A  small enclosed cupboard in someone’s front yard filled with books to share. What a great idea! I’ve been seeing pictures of them on the internet and people’s blogs.  I’d read about their popularity and how they were popping up all over the U.S. But I hadn’t spotted any yet myself.

Today I went back to my neighborhood Little Free Library carrying The Gift of Rain by Tan Twan Eng and Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman. I had picked them both up at the library booksale this summer and was ready to pass them on to a new home.

ZenzeleThe Little Free Library contained a nice selection of about 20-30 books. They included picture books, children’s books (Sideways Stories from Wayside School!), and adult books ranging from The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo to Wallace Stegner.

I took home with me a copy of Zenzele: A Letter to my Daughter by J. Nozipo Maraire. It’s a novel set in Zimbabwe and comes highly recommended by Mary Okeke of Mary Okeke Reviews. So I was excited to pick up a copy. (Even though I’ve already read my book for Zimbabwe, plus another, Elegy for Easterly by Petina Gappah which I haven’t reviewed. Reading a book from every country doesn’t mean I have to limit myself to just one of course!)

Responses

  1. Gosh.. I so look forward to your review of Zenzele. You so lucky you got it for free, how I wish to come across one of those little free libraries. Thanks for the post.

    • The Little Free Libraries map has one listed in Madrid, though not all libraries are listed on the map, so there might be more around. I don’t think they’ve caught on in Europe as much as they have in the U.S.

  2. We have a tiny one where I live that isn’t listed on the website. Apparently there are a lot of restrictions/requirements to actually be listed. They are super cool though! This is what ours looks like: http://instagram.com/p/dxQDADnzW-/

    • Oh, interesting, I didn’t realize that about the rules. It seems you have to pay too.

      Thanks for sharing your photo.

  3. Glad you finally found one. There are loads in Minneapolis. There is even one three house down from me. They are all so cute and nicely put together too. It is really impressive.

    • How fun to have one so close. I think I would find myself keeping track of the books in it- “Oh, look, someone took the Wallace Stegner. Yay!”

  4. Wow what a cool idea! I hadn’t heard of this before. Looks like there are a couple nearish to me…I might have to check them out!

  5. That’s awesome! I think there’s one near where I live, but I haven’t visited it yet… I need to do that soon!


Leave a Reply

Categories

