Posted by: biblioglobal | November 4, 2015

Bailey’s ‘Best of the Best’ Prize

I’m thrilled to see that Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie won the Bailey’s ‘Best of the Best’ prize. The idea was to pick one book out of the ten winners during the second decade of the Bailey’s/Orange Prize. How tough of a job must that be?!

Half of a Yellow Sun was book number 12 in my book-from-every-country project and reading it was an intense experience. Book number 12 is a long time ago now! Going back and reading what I wrote about it reminded me of how much it occupied my brain while I was reading it. While falling asleep or walking to work, my thoughts kept returning to those characters, wondering where they were headed.

Since then I’ve read all of Adichie’s other books. They’re all good, but none of them had the same impact on me that Half of a Yellow Sun did. In retrospect, I think it is the depth of the characters that really shines. There are so many characters that inspired my affection as a reader, but at the same time they were all complicated and flawed in important ways. Probably reading the book early on in my journey also made it have more of an impact on me.

Anyway, congratulations Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie!

Responses

  1. I’m glad too. Loved the book, and love her other work as well. Well-deserved recognition for a brilliant writer!

    • Indeed! I haven’t seen you around the blogging world recently, but I hope you’ve been enjoying some good books.

  2. I read it too some years ago, beautiful but quite depressing as well

    • True. I didn’t know what it was going to be about when I started, which I think made it have all the more impact.

      • I’m getting more and more reticent reading books about India or nearby countries, they are always so emotionally challenging for me, novels included!

  3. Really pleased to see this win – it’s a true modern classic which I think will be enjoyed by readers in decades to come.

    • I hadn’t thought about from the perspective of future readers. I think you’re right!

  4. This is such an awesome book and she is such a fabulous writer! I have Americanah on my bookshelf, but I haven’t gotten to it yet.


Leave a Reply

Categories

