Posted by: biblioglobal | December 1, 2016

My 100th book!

Today I finished reading The Tuner of Silences by Mia Couto, a Mozambican writer. I hadn’t even realized until just before I started reading it that it was going to be my 100th book. Since I hadn’t been keeping my blog up to date, I’d lost count of how far along I was. For the record, here are the books I’ve read since last report:

  • #81 Pakistan: The Wandering Falcon by Jamil Ahmad
  • #82 Vietnam: Paradise of the Blind by Duong Thu Huong
  • #83 Republic of Congo: Little Boys Come from the Stars by Emmanuel Dongala
  • #84 United Kingdom: Wolf Border by Sarah Hall
  • #85 Zambia: Dead Aid by Dambisa Moyo
  • #86 Bangladesh: A Golden Age by Tahmima Anam
  • #87 Andorra: The Road to Andorra by Shirley Deane
  • #88 Kiribati: Underwater Eden by David Obura and Gregory Stone
  • #89 Tonga: Tales of the Tikongs by Epeli Hau’ofa
  • #90 Czech Republic: Too Loud a Solitude by Bohumil Hrabal
  • #91 Uruguay: Voices from Time by Eduardo Galeano
  • #92 Macedonia: In the Time of the Goats by Luan Starova
  • #93 Belgium: Bobbins of Belgium by Charlotte Kellogg
  • #94 Poland: The Cyberiad by Stanislaw Lem
  • #95 Jamaica: Here Comes the Sun by Nicole Dennis-Benn
  • #96 Kyrgyzstan: The Day Lasts More than 100 Years by Chingiz Aitmatov
  • #97 Mali: Monique and the Mango Rains by Kris Holloway
  • #98 Kuwait: The Bamboo Stalk by Saud Alsanousi
  • #99 Grenada: The Ladies are Upstairs by Merle Collins
  • #100 Mozambique: The Tuner of Silences by Mia Couto

There’s a lot of good and interesting books in that list. It’s too bad I haven’t kept up with posting about them…

In a nice coincidence, it is (more or less) the fifth anniversary of book-from-every-country project. There isn’t an exact date, but I remember that it was sometime around Thanksgiving that I decided to give it a go. With 193 countries on my list, I’m just slightly ahead of schedule for my goal of finishing in 10 years.

Thinking about it now, it’s pretty remarkable to me that I started such a long-term project. And even more surprising, that I’m still going and still on track. I really haven’t gotten tired of it.

Also surprising to me is that there haven’t been any new UN member countries in the past five years.  Looking back through the history of the UN, there have been several 5 year gaps with no new members, but no 10 year gaps. So we’ll see what happens in the next 5 years.

Responses

  1. Start picking out your books for the independent Republic of Scotland!

    • I’ve got that covered! I read Buddha Da about a Glaswegian father who decides to take up Buddhism

  2. Congratulations on reaching book 100!

  3. Congratulations! I am simply snowed!100 books and sticking on to it for 5 years now…that is perseverance and incredibly inspiring! All the best with the leg of the journey!

    • Thanks! Like I said, I’m kind of surprised myself. Though, since it involves reading books, maybe it shouldn’t be that surprising!

  4. Congratulations!!! What a great a milestone!!! It’s been fun tracking your journey 🙂

    • Thanks! I hope things are going well with you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

